Known in the past as Long Tuyen Communal House, is located in Binh Thuy Ward, Binh Thuy Dist. 5km from the centre of Can Tho City. On 9 November 1893, the communal house, which was built in 1844, was named Bon Canh Thanh Hoang by King Tu Duc. Then, the communal house has been rebuilt and was completely reno – vated in 1910. The architecture of Binh Thuy Communal House is different from the communal house in the North. The feont anf the back buildings are square and each side has columns are very wide, which make the buildings more stable. The roofs of the two front buildings were builf over – lapping each other.
The main sanctum, at the rear, has three rooft. The top of the roof is covered with ornamentation of people, lions, and fish transforming into dragons. In the front of the building, there are cement columns.
Insite the ancestor – worshipping house, there are altars which are dedicated to Nghi Ha and Nghi Trung. In the square house, there are altrars dedicated to Huong Chuc, Tien Giac and Hau Hien. The middleroom dedicated to Hau Than is very close to the rear partition anh Huu Ban and Ta ban altars are on either side.
An opera house for performances of clas – sical Vietnamese drama was built in front of the communal house.
Later, the communal house was also ded – icated to the spirits of the land, such as Dinh Cong Trang, Nguyen Trung Truc, Bui Huu Nghia and Vo Huy Tap.
Evert year, the local people organize Thuong Dien (the land breaking) ceremony and Ha Dien (initiating farm work) ceremony in honour of Agriculture Gog. The festival involves many folk games, such as duck races, tug of wars and cooking contests..